House Names Seven Impeachment Managers

Print More

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) selected seven House members on Wednesday to serve as impeachment managers in the Senate trial of President Donald Trump, including Intelligence Committee Chairman Adam Schiff (D-CA) and Judiciary Committee Chairman Jerrold Nadler (D-NY).  The House is expected to vote on a resolution that will trigger the transmission of the articles of impeachment to the Senate. The House managers plan to walk the articles across the Capitol and present them, the Washington Post reports. The crux of the case is the allegation that Trump tried to leverage a White House meeting and military aid, sought by Ukraine to combat Russian military aggression, to pressure Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky to launch an investigation of former vice president Joe Biden and his son Hunter Biden.

Other impeachment managers are Reps. Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY), Sylvia Garcia (D-TX), Val Demings (D-FL), Zoe Lofgren (D-CA) and Jason Crow (D-CO). Rep. Douglas Collins (R-GA), the top Republican on the Judiciary Committee, said senators would come to realize how weak a case Democrats have for impeaching Trump and removing him from office. Sen. Chris Coons (D-DE) predicted that Republicans are “going to vote to acquit regardless of what evidence is presented.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *