DOJ Cites ‘Sanctuary Policies’ in Four Places

Print More

The U.S. Justice Department singled out four cities and a county on Thursday for allegedly having so-called “sanctuary policies” that may violate a federal law that says local governments cannot limit information-sharing with U.S. immigration officials, Reuters reports. The department said New Orleans, New York City, Philadelphia, and Cook County, Il., along with its largest city, Chicago, “have preliminarily been found” to have policies that violate the law. It is giving those jurisdictions until October 27 to provide evidence demonstrating compliance. If the government finds the cities and county are violating the statute known as Section 1373, it could try to cut federal funds for law enforcement. The Justice Department said it had found no evidence that four other jurisdictions–Milwaukee County, Wi., Clark County, Nv., Miami-Dade County, Fl., and the State of Connecticut—were in violation of the statute.

The determinations came after the Justice Department asked several local jurisdictions to detail their compliance to determine their eligibility for federal grants. Attorney General Jeff Sessions said in a statement that the cities still in the department’s crosshairs “adopt the view that the protection of criminal aliens is more important than the protection of law-abiding citizens and of the rule of law.” The jurisdictions say they are following the law, which states that local authorities cannot prevent information exchange with federal agents about people’s immigration status.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


You have Free articles left this month.

Want access to all our reporting? Subscribe for unlimited access or login.