24 States Have Reformed Civil Forfeiture Laws in 3 Years

Print More

In the last three years, 24 states and the District of Columbia have reformed their civil forfeiture laws, and North Carolina, New Mexico and Nebraska have abolished civil forfeiture entirely, says the Institute for Justice, which calls itself the nation’s only libertarian, civil liberties, public interest law firm.

Minnesota, Michigan and Utah have enacted reform this year of civil forfeiture statutes, which allow law enforcement officers to seize property of crime suspects and convicted people. Yesterday, The Crime Report erroneously labeled a report on asset forfeiture by the institute as new. The study was issued in late 2015. The institute’s website provides updated reports on asset forfeiture policy changes by states and the federal government.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.