FAA Releases Updated List of 935 Drone Applications


After months of delays, the Federal Aviation Administration has released an updated list of the organizations that have approval to fly drones in U.S. airspace, reports Muckrock and Motherboard. New approvals include the ATF and the Army Corps of Engineers, Michigan State Police, local police in Mobile, Ala., and Daytona Beach, Fla., and the Florida Keys Mosquito Control District.

This is the first FAA release of an updated drone list since January 2013. At 34 pages long, the list includes each of the 935 drone waiver applications that were completed between November 2012 and June 19, 2014. Eight police departments and 11 sheriff’s offices sought drone waivers in the period. The law enforcement agencies included the Illinois State Police and others in Arlington, Texas; Suffolk County, N.Y.; Pelham, Ala.; Somerset, Mass.; Canyon County, Idaho; Grand Forks County, N.D.; Lorain, Medina and Montgomery counties in Ohio; Mesa County, Colo.; Oakland County, Mich.; Polk County, Fla., and Ventura County, Calif.

Comments are closed.