Only 14 States Comply with Adam Walsh Law on Sex Offender Registries


Four more states have come into substantial compliance with the federal Adam Walsh Act ahead of yesterday's deadline, and the Justice Department said there would likely be more once other reviews are completed, reports Youth Today. Alabama, Kansas, Louisiana, and Maryland established sex offender registries that the Office of Sex Sentencing, Monitoring, Apprehending and Tracking (SMART) deemed to be in line sufficiently with the guidelines created by the Walsh Act. The registries will feed into a national sex offender registry. The Justice Department said today that 14 states, nine tribes, and one territory had complied.

States were required to include juvenile sex offenders who were convicted of certain serious offenses, although states could also include a wider range of juvenile offenders if they chose to do so. States have voiced concerns with the act's requirements, including retroactively including offenders and tying inclusion on the registry to what an offender pleaded guilty to or was found guilty of, as opposed to placing the decision in the hands of a judge. States that did not comply will be subject to a 10 percent cut to their Byrne Justice Assistance Grants from the Justice Department.

Comments are closed.


You have Free articles left this month.

Want access to all our reporting? Subscribe for unlimited access or login.