Sheldon Whitehouse To Head Senate Judiciary’s Crime-Terrorism Panel


U.S. Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) is slated to become chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee’s subcommittee on crime and terrorism. He succeeds former Sen. Arlen Specter (PA), who was defeated in a primary election last year. Other Democratic members of the panel are Herb Kohl (WI), Dianne Feinstein (CA), Dick Durbin (IL), Amy Klobuchar (MN), a former prosecutor, and Christopher Coons (DE). A new subcommittee on privacy, technology, and the law will be headed by Al Franken (MN).

Top Republican on the subcommittee will be Jon Kyl of Arizona, who is not seeking another Senate term next year. Other Republicans members are Orrin Hatch of Utah, former chairman of the full Judiciary Committee, Jeff Sessions (AL), and Lindsey Graham (SC). The slate is expected to be approved at a full committee meeting tomorrow.

Comments are closed.