Holder Talks To Federal Violence Against Women Advisory Panel


The U.S. Justice Department has “re-chartered” its National Advisory Committee on Violence Against Women. Today, Attorney General Eric Holder and Susan Carbon, director of the department’s Office on Violence Against Women, spoke to the 15-member group. “We are committed to engaging a broad spectrum of community partners to help stem teen dating violence and safeguard our children,” Holder said.

Committee members are Prof. Jeffrey Edelson of the University of Minnesota School of Social Work, Maria Jose Fletcher of the Florida Immigrant Advocacy Center, Neil Irvin of Men Can Stop Rape, Amber Johnson, a youth advocate from Providence, R.I., Monika Johnson Hostler of the North Carolina Coalition Against Sexual Assault, Debbie Lee of the Family Violence Prevention Fund, Police Chief Susan Manheimer of San Mateo, Ca., Betsy McAlister Groves of the Child Witness to Violence Project at Boston Medical Center, Carol Post of the Delaware Coalition Against Domestic Violence, Francine Sherman of Boston College Law School, Judge Melvin Stoof of Pascua Yaqui Tribal Court, Tucson, Joe Torre of the Joe Torre Safe at Home Foundation, Jerry Tello of Sacred Circles National Latino Fatherhood and Family Institute, Gabrielle Union of Beverly Hills, Ca., and Sujata Warrier of the New York City Program of the New York Office for the Prevention of Domestic Violence.

Comments are closed.