Durbin Succeeds Biden As Senate Crime Panel Chair


Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL) has succeeded Vice President Joe Biden as chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee’s Crime and Drugs subcommittee. The ranking Republican member is Lindsey Graham of South Carolina. Other Democratic members are Herb Kohl of Wisconsin, Dianne Feinstein of California, Charles Schumer of New York, Benjamin Cardin of Maryland, Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota and Ted Kaufman of Delaware, Biden’s successor in the Senate.

On the Republican side, other members are Arlen Specter of Pennsylvania, Orrin Hatch of Utah, Charles Grassley of Iowa, Jeff Sessions of Alabama and Tom Coburn of Oklahoma. Chairmen of other subcommittees dealing with criminal justice issues include Sheldon Whithouse of Rhode Island (Administrative Oversight and the Courts), Charles Schumer of New York (Immigration, Refugees and Border Security), and Benjamin Cardin of Maryland (Terrorism and Homeland Security).

Comments are closed.