Now Leaving Missouri; Please Check Your Pistols

Print More

Citizens who plan to carry concealed guns under a new Missouri law might want to study the gun laws of neighboring states if they routinely cross those borders, reports the Associated Press.

Just five states prohibit citizens from carrying concealed weapons, and three of them border Missouri: Illinois, Kansas and Nebraska. The others are Ohio and Wisconsin.

Some municipalities also have local gun ordinances. The AP cites Johnson County, Kan., in the Kansas City metropolitan area. With 20 cities packed into the county’s 477 square miles, a driver can pass through three jurisdictions, many with their own gun laws, within a few blocks.

The county prosecutor there warned he would prosecute Missourians caught with concealed weapons. “We will not be out actively looking for concealed weapons, but if we find them, we will prosecute,” he says.


Comments are closed.


You have Free articles left this month.

Want access to all our reporting? Subscribe for unlimited access or login.