New state laws will let people drink more but will impose harsher penalties for drunken driving, stateline.org reports. Among laws effective today, Minnesota bars can serve alcohol until 2 a.m. Virginia lets residents mail-order wine from out-of state-wineries. But if you drive drunk in Kansas, the car you're in could be impounded up to a year, whether it belongs to you, a friend or a relative.
Kansas' impoundment law is aimed at drunken drivers and those who make it possible for them to drive drunk. It allows judges to impound a drunken driver's car for up to a year, even on a first offense. The judge can impound the car if it doesn't belong to the driver. Under the law, if you let somebody drive your car knowing he or she has been convicted of drunken driving, your car can be impounded and you can be fined $1000. The law was introduced by a state senator after a 23-year-old man was killed in a wreck caused by a driver with eight DUI convictions.
Wyoming has made it a felony punishable by up to two years in prison and a maximum $10,000 fine for getting a fourth driving under the influence (DUI) conviction. Tennessee and Ohio reduce their legal blood-alcohol limit from 0.10 to 0.08. The federal government has convinced 38 other states to do the same by threatening to withhold millions of dollars in federal highway construction funds.